What to Do When You Can’t Do Anything

I’m not going to lie, I haven’t been doing too well lately. My mental illnesses have been kicking my butt, and life hasn’t made things anything easier. I’ve been anxious to the point of puking most days and depressed to the point that it’s hard to even get out of bed, let alone be productive. I haven’t been able to focus or motivate myself like I usually can and I’ve barely gotten anything done the past few days, and you know what? That’s okay. My mind and body needed a break. So here’s a small list of things to do when you feel like you can’t do anything.

Nomao Saeki.jpg

1) Take a break. If at all possible, take a day and let yourself do nothing. Don’t worry about being productive or keeping up appearances. You deserve a break. Make sure to take care of yourself. (Are you hungry? Eat something nutritious. Have you slept? Take a nap. When was the last time you hung out with friends or family? Call or text someone and set up a movie or coffee date. Have you taken your medication today? Do it now. What about water? Make sure you stay hydrated!)

2) Self care. Have you taken a break and feel like you still can’t do anything? Take some time for self care, however that looks for you. Take a nap, take a bath, put on make up and get dressed up, paint your nails, hang out with a friend, binge watch something on Netflix, curl up with a cozy blanket and read your favorite comfort book. What makes you happy? What makes you feel safe? What makes you feel good about yourself? Do those things. Even just one thing will help you feel a little better.

3) Work on one task. I had so many things I needed to do, but I couldn’t get anything done. So instead of worrying about all of it at once and stressing out about not getting everything done, I chose my most important task and decided I would work on it for as long as I could. And I finally made a little progress! I didn’t finish the task, but I made a dent in it. And it encouraged me to know that I can get back in the swing of things eventually.

4) Take one day at a time. Try not to worry about tomorrow, or next week, or next month. Just focus on today. Continue to take care of yourself. Eat, stay hydrated, take your meds, don’t isolate yourself, etc. Don’t beat yourself up for not accomplishing everything you wanted to. Instead, focus on what you did get done. Be kind and gentle with yourself.

I hope this gives you some ideas on what to do when you can’t do anything, and I hope it gives you hope that healing is possible. Together, we’ll get through this rough time. As always, feel free to reach out to me by comment, email, or Facebook if you need to talk. I’m here to love and support you.

As a freebie bonus, here’s a graphic I made for my most important daily affirmations. Feel free to print and use!

Daily Affirmations.jpg

2 thoughts on “What to Do When You Can’t Do Anything

  1. Sheila says:

    Thank you for your list. I’ve been where you and know how it feels. I have arthritis and fibromyalgia and I have had three spot days: bed, couch, bathroom, repeat. I have found crocheting very soothing for myself and also end of with a tangible object. I admire your bravery in putting yourself out there to help other. Again thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

